Invoking custom WCF service from under Sharepoint 2010 throws an Impersonation error from SQL

I had a problem with one of my WCF services that was running under Sharepoint 2010. The problem was that when that service tries to access the database to add a record, i got the below exception.

System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: A transport-level error has occurred when sending the request to the server. (provider: Shared Memory Provider, error: 0 – Either a required impersonation level was not provided, or the provided impersonation level is invalid.)

It was very weird for me because my connection string was configured to use SQL authentication. So I do not understand why is it trying to impersonate.

Anyways, I have done a simple workaround to overcome that problem. I simply disabled the shared memory provider from the SQL configuration manager.

 

That way I forced it to work via named pipes. And it worked :). Still I do not know understand what was the problem originally, however, it worked.

One Response to Invoking custom WCF service from under Sharepoint 2010 throws an Impersonation error from SQL

  1. Laffi says:

    Thanks, you saved me.

Leave a Reply

