The extension name ‘enableWebScript’ is not registered error

While deploying a project I am working on that contain an AJAX enabled WCF service, I got the following error:

Invalid element in configuration. The extension name ‘enableWebScript’ is not registered in the collection at system.serviceModel/extensions/behaviorExtensions.

After hours of searching, it turned out to be that when you run the wcf uninstall command as shown below, it removes with the configurations from the machine.config.

servicemodelreg.exe -u

I found someone who suggested to add the xml tags manually to the machine.config. Although it worked, I got other errors. At the end, I reinstalled .Net FrameWork 3.5 SP1, in order to resolve that issue.

3 Responses to The extension name ‘enableWebScript’ is not registered error

  1. Adam says:

    Mohamed,

    Thank you so much. You saved me the hours you went through. I searched for maybe an hour before finding your post. Oddly, no one else had a post about the same problem. I also ran servicemodelreg.exe. with the -u switch. Very annoying. Why remove things from machine.config? It shouldn’t be a problem if you don’t want to user WCF.

    Salam

  2. Abby says:

    Thanks so much. valuable piece of info

    cheers

  3. Ross says:

    Nice one. Solution worked for me.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

